top of page

Make your own Millennium Falcon for your child

Having watched all the Star Wars movies, my son Joshua wanted his first birthday party with his friends to be based on the movie. That sounded simple enough and I thought I could wait for the sale on Disneystore to come on and get his favourite character outfit for him - Darth Vader.

One night, before he fell asleep he asked if I could make him his own Millennium Falcon... one that he could fly around in! For the next few nights, I couldn't sleep as I was just presented a challenge by my 4-yr-old! I found myself dreaming up the different possibilities but of course I didn't want to get ahead of myself so while my kids were asleep, I was wide-awake and googling on the web for ideas from like-minded parents or people who had made one for me to follow.

Hmmm, after searching for quite a while I realised that what I had in mind hadn't been done before.... should I then give up and tell Joshua its not possible? Or should I continue searching... but this time on images on the Millennium Falcon (MF henceforth) on various angles and thought of how my son could fit in the MF and ride it...fly it.

For a full step-by-step guide on how you can make this MF for your kid too, pls click on this link to my Instructables page -https://www.instructables.com/id/Make-Your-Own-Milleninum-Falcon-for-Your-Child/​

Anyway, I am happy to be able to share that both my kids loved it and of course I forgot to add that during my planning stages of how I would go about making him his own MF, he suddenly threw me another challenge..... he wanted a Tie Fighter too so both my kids could pretend to fly around and 'attack' each other as they saw in the movies! My initial reaction, 'No... babies.... its going to be tough on mum to work on this idea of the Millennium Falcon... now you want a Tie Fighter?!' Well that suggestion made me stay awake again over the new few days wondering if that could even be possible given the structure of the Tie Fighter - a ball-like structure in the centre and huge hexagonal sides connected to each other by a small circular joint.... is it even possible for it to stand? How do I fit my kids in there without breaking it apart?

If you're interested to know how I made the Tie Fighter, do tune in to my next post on Make your own Tie Fighter for your child!

bottom of page