top of page

Learning to Sew

In December 2019, I decided I should try and learn to sew with the sewing machine I bought for my mum back in 2002. It was a skill taught in secondary school during Home Econs lesson and looking back now I wished I had paid more attention then.... anyway, the sewing machine I bought for my mum had become a white elephant in the house all these years. And increasingly as I got older, I wanted to be able to sew an item of clothing for my kids and to be able to say that I’ve done it!


In the last few years, I tried asking my mum to teach me how to use the machine and how to lay patterns but somehow we never got round to it.

One night, I decided to google “sewing basics” and the search engine came up with a you-tube link to this lady Aneka. I was initially apprehensive as I was worried the sewing terms would bore me to sleep and I guess my worries were redundant. Aneka was a fantastic “online teacher” - she had created these 5 day videos, each about 20mins long. By the end of the 5th video, I was confident enough to pick up sewing and decided to embark on a rather challenging 1st project... a CNY (Chinese New Year outfit) for both my kids for the Chinese New Year celebration come 2020!


I will not bore you with the details but to date, I have now made 12 items of clothes for both my kids as well as about 50 over masks during the Covid 19 period. Yay!!! I only wished I had started my sewing journey much earlier.... 😉


My latest sewing task was to make a mask pouch so that it can fit some extra masks for my kids when they are at school. And I decided on making a short video for this mask pouch to help others interested in making one.


I hope the instructions were clear and simple to follow.



bottom of page